Oh The Joy

“Take the attitude of a student, never be too big to ask questions, never know too much to learn something new.” Og Mandino

One thing that I’ve always been interested in doing is photography. I visualize myself behind a lens, capturing everyday life life Gordon Parks or Cary Mae Weems. Though I’ve always daydreamed about the thrill of being a photographer I never followed through on my desires.

parks original

Parks orginal

It wasn’t until I became employed with my previous employer that I came close to acting out my dream. Though my job title was administrative assistant, I had the opportunity to wear many hats. One of my favorite duties was to take pictures of visitors and speakers and come up with stories to accompany the pictures for the company’s blog and Facebook page. The director of the organization taught me how to download pictures and I would e-mail the finish work to the editor. This experience paved the way for me to start my own blog, but I still had the desire to have my own catalog of pictures, instead of finding all of my images online.

Today during morning worship, the pastor began to compliment the worship leader on her photography skills. This praise of her works sparked an interest within me; I decided that after service I would ask her for some advice on getting started.  I am happy that I made that decision!  Not only did she advise me on a great starter camera, she gave me her contact information to share insight in the future.

weems art

Weems original

If I had not been willing to be a student, I would have missed out on valuable information to help me advance  towards a part of my vision.

In life it is easy to feel let down by people; when we are faced with these difficulties our hearts can become calloused.With each let down, we have the tendency to  become more for self, trying to shield our hearts from pain. This defense mechanism makes us more secluded and less willing to reach out for information in fear of vulnerability.

Instead of allowing that fear to chase us into the corners of ignorance, let us embrace the light of learning something new. As Confucius says, “He who asks a question is only a fool for five minutes; he who does not ask a question remains a fool  forever.”

 

*Images found on http://www.google.com 

 

Leave a Reply

