Free Yo Mind

“You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.” – Beverly Sills

Disclaimer: Jonesitis is a terrible disease. In most cases, people  suffer from envy, low self-esteem, comparing themselves to others and procrastination. Many people are troubled from this ailment daily, but have been undiagnosed for many years. The only known cure for Jonesitis is to become more self aware of the individual beauty that one possess. flo jo

If procrastination was an Olympic game, I would have won the gold medal. I cannot begin to count how many late papers I’ve turned in only to hear the same response: “Great paper, you would have gotten an A if you would have turned it in on time!” 

There are many factors that hinder  us from reaching our fullest potential; for me it is the fear of failing. My own negative thoughts have prevented me from truly going for the gusto. My most pressing concern is: “What if nobody likes what I have to say?” But truly, with the way that I speak to myself sometimes even my worse critic would give me a hug.

Procrastination is just a sweet way of  saying, “Welp, I’m already a failure, I might as well take my time getting to the next epic disappointment.”

Negative mind chatter places us in a prison where the warden constantly beats on the bars to remind us of our past mishaps. But, the best part of being a prisoner in our minds is: we hold the keys to our liberation. We all have hang-ups that society has pointed out. We’re either too skinny, too fat, too black, not black enough, too poor, too uneducated, or too educated to meet the requirements for the world to deem us as qualified. Sometimes, our past experiences also create our poor thinking patterns; we look at our past failures as a road map to be a predicting compass of how our lives will ultimately end.

like a birdInstead of allowing the past to imprison and taunt us, let us think of our past failures as stepping-stones to our success.  When we take on the attitude of gratitude and begin to use our past experiences as learning tools, we transform our minds from a cold prison cell to a lush landscape of new opportunities.

And let us remember what mother used to say: If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all! That goes for conversations with ourselves too.

 

* Pictures found on http://www.google.com

Leave a Reply

