14 Lessons 2014 Taught Me

This year has been a year of surprises for me. Though I am still growing in grace, I would like to share some of the  lessons that I have learned and a couple of the lessons that I continue to re-take. In prior years, I have spent most of my time focusing on what I would do better in the year to come, that I would make resolutions only to forget them by March. This year I would like to take time to focus on what I’ve learned that has helped to make my next year better.

 

1. R.E.E.B.O.K- Read Each and Every Book Of Knowledge. At the closing of 2013 I was encouraged to read, The Happiness Project by Mrs. Gretchen Rubin, this book paved the way to me reading other books such as- Successful Maria BWomen Think Differently by Mrs. Valorie Burton and The Ten Laws of Enduring Success by Mrs. Maria Bartiromo. Reading these books helped to prepare me for what I considered failure, and assisted me in looking at many situations differently. The books that we read can impact us is so many ways, but many times it is months after we finish them.

2. People treat you how you allow them to treat you. I am learning that if I do not tell someone the first time that  they may have  ticked  me off, I had better get prepared to be ticked off a lot. Though I may have twisted my face into knots, unless I have told them that they have licked the red off of my apple, they will continue to keep licking.

3. Some people enjoy pushing your buttons. Some folks are into the shock value of things. They will make comments about your posts, they will talk about you, they will even reject you just to see how you will react. It’s not the situation that matters,  its how I react to the situation .

4. Finger pointing ain’t cute. It’s kinda like #3 but it goes a little deeper. Instead of comparing how others are acting to how I am, I could just be the example of how to conduct myself. Not everyone has the same upbringing as I did, what I deem proper is what I have been taught, it doesn’t make it law.

5. Never quit your job without a plan, cause you are gone be praying and crying every other month. After crying for the first month of my unemployment, I quickly realized that ordering your day will help you to not spiral into too deep of a depression. Saving money wouldn’t hurt either.

6.  Music can change any situation.  If you don’t believe me, put in Holla Back Girl by Gwen Stefani after a bad day and see what happens. That shit is really B-A-N-A-N-A-S!bananas

7. The number seven is really a Divine number. I view it as the ending of one book in a trilogy and beginning another one.

8. Death is sad, but it brings new life. Though the ending of something brings pain, it can also awaken new strengths that we never knew that we had. The deaths that took place in 2014 helped me to view my life, my choices  and the direction that I wanted to take.

9. Labels are limits. We want to be apart of something to make us feel like we are not alone in this world, so we join clubs, churches or organizations. Some of these labels restrict us from learning information because of religion, race and culture that may be essential to the betterment of our communities. I’m learning that the messenger doesn’t matter, it is the message that is given and how it applies to my current situation.

10. Just do it. If I am going to nick pick about how someone fulfills a task that was mine in the beginning, I was asking to get teed off. If I did it myself I would not have to calm myself after a temper tantrum.

11. The right way is only the right way for you. A piggyback of #4.

12. Don’t talk about it. Be about it. Just because I say that #blacklivesmatter, it doesn’t mean anything if I am not gentrifyputting my time and positive energy into other members of my community. Being  active in my community has helped me to see that words without action is gentrification and death.

13. I am ever evolving, so be nice. I have to stop beating myself up about my past and focus on the things that are positive in my life. A positive and secure environment helps stimulate growth and development ( in my Alex Trebek voice).

14. Write something every day. You don’t have to be published or go to school to be a writer; writing makes you a writer. How good you are depends on the reader.

Let the countdown begin to a New Year! Blessings to all and remember….

Friends don’t let friends twerk.

*Images found on http://www.google.com.

One comment

Leave a Reply

