Only For A Limited Time

For one month out of a 12-month calendar year, the African American Community comes together to celebrate more than bhm400 years of achievements and strides made by our ancestors. In my youth, since I was so disconnected from my history, I felt like it was fitting for my people to learn of our rich and sordid pasts. I can remember being in the 9th grade getting upset that we no longer celebrated Black History month like we did in elementary and middle school. My friends and I would cause a ruckus when we did not hear of the great contributions of the people that fought for our civil liberties as African- Americans to be in desegregated classrooms and diners.

As I grew and began to learn of my ancestors, I began to question my motives.

My first question was: How can we fit 400+ years of achievements into a 28-day month without missing some great details?

My second inquiry was: Why is this one month the only month that my culture comes together to celebrate each other?

The second inquiry was the most pressing. For one month, there is minimal fights, thefts and deaths that take place in the urban community but the other eleven are  saturated with hate and fatalities. For one month my community is more loving and gracious for each other but as soon as March 1st arrives we are back to our same shenanigans of self-hate and more thancommunity degradation.

Why can’t we celebrate our ancestors all year round?  If our pride and love is only offered for a limited time, how will we move forward to accomplish more goals? Do we celebrate Black History month because we need to be reminded that we were more in unison with each other when we were enslaved?

I think that it would behoove us as a society to begin to embrace each other every day of the year to create a  new foundation of honor and respect for one another.  Until we begin the process of daily encouragement and education we will continue to be forced to look upon our former glory as we forfeit the potential of having a brilliant latter that our children and grandchildren can  look upon and embrace.

*Images found on http://www.google.com

6 comments

  1. It’s the same way for women. We also get a week. We are also ignored in HISstory. And that’s why, because it’s HIS…story. Wealthy white males wrote history and they made it up and wrote it about THEMSELVES. Finally, after a lot of work and outcries, the rest of us are given a month, all the other time is still set aside for the rich white guys. History is made up of OMISSIONS and white male fantasy. They seem to be the only people who were alive throughout all those years. I guess the rest of us popped into being magically in the not so distant past. I can’t believe that HIStory is still being taught in schools, not only what is taught but that it’s still called by that name. How about OUR STORY, which might INCLUDE all of us. I agree with you 100%. We are all made invisible by this outdated bunch of made up garbage and we need to change that. This is a wonderful post and I love the way you brought the dropping of the violence rate into it. I believe that violence is a direct result of being purposely kept powerless and forgotten. You know the men in power would become violent if anyone tried to make them disappear. Look what they do now.

    1. I am truly happy that you enjoyed this post. It saddens me that instead of the history uplifting the reader it only creates more hate and tensions between us. Thank you for enjoying and commenting.

  2. I NEED YOU TO DO US AND OUR COMMUNITY A FAVOR, START A BLOG THAT STATES: END THE COURTROOM .COM, BASICALLY I DO NOT HAVE THE YOUTH, THE INTELLIGENCE, THE SKILLS, THE TIME OR THE KNOW HOW, BUT I BET YOU DO. I WILL HELP IN EVERY WAY POSSIBLE, I DO NOT KNOW IF YOU WILL OR CAN, BUT WITH LIFE WE ARE BUSY, AND OUR KIDS ARE REALLY MESSED UP YOU KNOW., SO HERE IT IS, DRUGS, BABIES UNPLANNED, ALCOHOL, LACK OF EDUCATION, RESPECT FOR OTHERS AND CRIME, FILL UP THE COURT ROOMS AND JAILS, THEY FEED THE LAWYERS CHILDRENS, THE POLICES CHILDRENS, THE JUDGES CHILDREN, THE BAIL BONDSMAN’S CHILDREN, THE CITY MORGUE WORKERS CHILDREN AND OUR GENERATION FALLS AND LIKE GARBAGE ISN’T NOTICE. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS REQUEST. GOD BLESS YOU AND I’M HERE TO HELP. PUBLISHED AUTHOR AWARD WINNING ARTIST AND 15YEARS IN PUBLIC SERVICE AND HONORABLE DISCHARGED UNITED STATES MARINE.

Leave a Reply

