Oh, The Beautiful Gates

“Yes, know thyself: in great concerns or small. Be this thy care, for this, my friend, is all.” –Juvenal

In the fourth grade,  my teacher had a conference with my mom that I was forced to sit in on because of my behavior in class. As I listened in my teacher went on a rant about how social I had been because I didn’t know the material and was not able to pay attention in class. She said that my grades were slipping because I wasn’t intelligent enough to succeed in her class and my mother had to understand that I was not Honor student material.

megamindThat year, I made A-B Honor Roll both semesters.

I beam every time I tell that story because my mother was so proud of me that year. I had overcome something all by myself and I was a big girl becoming a little lady. The joy overflowed in my mother’s heart and I could feel it through her hugs and kisses. This memory helps me realize a power  that drives me:

The Power Of Can’t

If you want me to do something, tell me that I can’t do it. It’s the rebel in me. I received a lot of butt whippings for it, but boy has it brought me thus far. The Power Of Can’t makes me want to do it just because I’m not suppose to do it- a thrill that is the equivalent of biting into a York peppermint patty (for some). There is something about the word “can’t”  that  causes me to ponder-

Why the heck not?

Now Peter and John went up together into the temple at the hour of prayer, being the ninth hour. And a certain man lame from his mother’s womb was carried, whom they laid at the gate of the temple which is called Beautiful, to ask alms of them that entered into the temple: Who seeing Peter and John about to go into the temple asked an alms. And Peter fastening his eyes upon him with John, said, Look on us. And he gave heed unto them, expecting to receive something of them. Then Peter said, Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk. And he took him by the the right hand, and lifted him up: and immediately his feet and ankle bones received strength.  Acts 3: 1-7 KJV

The lame man was told for years that he couldn’t go into the temple and he began to believe it. He had grown accustomed to being a beggar and getting by on the compassion of others, he never questioned why he could not walk- it was just the way his life went.

Behind every can’t is a can!

According to our upbringing, we all have experienced moments that made our abilities feel limited. Some of us have been told since birth all of the reasons why we cannot achieve the goals that we have imagined for ourselves. These restrictions that are placed upon us leaves us mentally crippled causing us to believe that we are not worthy enough to accomplish our cant stopdreams. We sit like the lame man waiting for someone to give us a piece of their success instead of going for the gusto of our own triumphs. Most of the time we allow the word “can’t” to have dominion over our actions leaving us stagnant.

We no longer have to be crippled by the negative and limited thoughts of others or ourselves! When we allow the word “can’t” to propel us to the next level, we begin to see the word as a friend instead of a foe. If my 4th grade teacher had not told me that I couldn’t be an Honor student, I would not have put as much energy into my studies as I did that year. I wanted so badly to prove her wrong that I studied diligently.

Let us refrain from sitting on the sidelines of life waiting for others to drop the crumbs of success at our feet. Let us begin to rise up and walk into our brilliant destinies. We all possess the power to be great!

* Images found on http://www.google.com

4 comments

Leave a Reply

